Apply Now
Home > News >

Loudoun Board Honors PHC's Moot Court Champions

March 19th, 2009

CONTACT:  David Halbrook
Patrick Henry College
(540) 338-8727

The PHC moot court champions receive an award from the Loudoun County Board of Supervisors. Photo by Ardee Coolidge

The College’s ACMA National Championship Moot Court team this past week received yet another honor, this time from the Loudoun County Board of Supervisors. In a special resolution read aloud and recorded into the public record on March 16th, the Supervisors officially recognized and congratulated “Patrick Henry College for its distinguished Moot Court program” and extended “formal recognition and commendation to Patrick Henry College’s 2009 ACMA National Champion.”

The Resolution of Recognition for the College was initiated by Supervisor Eugene Delgaudio from the Sterling District, who said, “You have accomplished something quite significant, winning three national titles in five years.” The Purcellville Town Council honored the team as well, at its February 10th meeting.

Representatives from the College’s top three winning teams were present: Rachel Heflin and Aidan Grano, first-place winners; Joseph Alm (who, with partner Brianna Edleblut, won second place), as well as the third-place team of Robert Kelly and James Mieding. Coaches Dr. Michael Farris, PHC Chancellor, and Dr. Frank Guluizza were also in attendance.

“We are honored to be recognized by this board,” said Dr. Farris. “And we are honored to be a part of the Loudoun County community.



Resolution of Recognition


WHEREAS, Patrick Henry College defeated Oxford University in back-to-back Moot Court competitions in 2004 and 2005; and

WHEREAS, Patrick Henry won two consecutive American Collegiate Moot Court Association (ACMA) National Championships in 2005 and 2006; and

WHEREAS, seventeen of Patrick Henry College’s Moot Court teams qualified through regional tournaments to compete for the 2009 ACMA National Championship; and

WHEREAS, Patrick Henry College sent the maximum-allowed number of eight teams to the 2009 ACMA National Championship competition in Orange, California; and
WHEREAS, on January 17, 2009 Patrick Henry College swept first, second, and third-place team trophies in the 64-team ACMA National Championship competition which featured competitors from across the United States. Specifically, Rachel Heflin and Aidan Grano took home the ACMA National Championship, Joseph Alm and Brianna Edleblut earned second place, and finally, Robert Kelly and James Mieding secured third-place.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED; that the Loudoun County Board of Supervisors does hereby recognize and congratulate Patrick Henry College for its distinguished Moot Court program and extends formal recognition and commendation to Patrick Henry College’s 2009 ACMA National Champion, second and third-place winning teams: Rachel Heflin, Aidan Grano, Joseph Alm, Brianna Edleblut, Robert Kelly, and James Mieding.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that on today’s date of February 17, 2009, a copy of this resolution will be permanently included in the official records of Loudoun County.